Recovery Smoothie with Kale & Turmeric

I am always experimenting with smoothies.  And since I bought beautiful baby kale at the farmer’s market yesterday, it was on my mind.   I decided to add about 1/4 tsp of Turmeric as a test to see if I’d notice the taste (I like it, but let’s face it–with blueberries and kale–it could have been disgusting!) and for its wonderful anti-inflammatory properties and muscle recovery. I was inspired to use the turmeric from a cool elixir I bought this week which was so interesting and tasty but a little expensive at $5.99 for a 12oz bottle, even though it’s 3 servings. I figured I could experiment and make my own.

Blueberry Kale Smoothie with Turmeric

1 small frozen banana

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup Goat Milk plain yogurt

1 tbsp Hemp powder

1 tbsp Vega protein powder

1 dash cinnamon

1/4 tsp turmeric

1 cup unsweetened Rice Milk

1 large handful of washed baby kale (it was so fresh and tender that it was not necessary to remove the stems)

Blend together for 90 seconds.  I had to push down the kale and then it blended nicely.  It ended up a lovely deep purple color and tasted banana-blueberrish and generally delicious. The turmeric was so mild it did not conflict with the flavors. And of course, it helped pass time in the ice bath again after my last big run. Now I’m ready for taper-time for Florida 70.3 in 2 weeks!

This entry was posted in Food, Ironman, Training, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recovery Smoothie with Kale & Turmeric

  1. Pingback: Interview with an Ironman competitor | 90in9

  2. Pingback: An ancient American hot cereal | 90in9

  3. Pingback: Not-so-stealthy smoothie secretly satisfies | 90in9

  4. snash311 says:

    I’m always looking for more ways to incorporate kale…I wouldn’t have thought this sounded like a good combination, but I will take your word for it and give it a try. ;)

  5. Pingback: Turmeric Smoothies & 5Ks | Triathlon Obsession

Leave a Reply

