Brazilian Cheese Bread

The first time I had Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pão de Queijo) I was in heaven. I never thought to make my own until a friend brought me a mix back from Brazil. I wanted more, and knew I had to find out how to make it. To my chagrin, it’s not only easy to make but gluten-free. It will get too hard after a few days if you can manage not to eat the whole lot of them at once. I always double this recipe I adapted from All Recipe.

1/2 cup olive oil

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup unsweetened milk, soy, rice or other milk

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups tapioca flour

2-3 garlic cloves minced or pressed

2/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan or other hard cheese (Monchego is also good)

2 beaten eggs

Pre-heat oven to 375  degrees F (190 degrees C).      Mix olive oil, water, milk, salt  and a few turns of fresh grated pepper into a large saucepan and heat until boiling. Remove from heat and stir in tapioca flour and garlic until smooth.  Let cool for about 5-10 minutes.     Stir the cheese and egg into the tapioca mixture until the mixture is chunky like cottage cheese.  (If too wet, add a bit more tapioca)  Drop rounded, 1/4 cup-sized balls of the mixture onto an ungreased baking sheet.  (You can also make them bigger as they go nicely with eggs for breakfast.)  Bake 20 minutes or until the tops are lightly browned.

Notice 2 have already been sampled…..yum!
6 thoughts on “Brazilian Cheese Bread

  1. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Baking

Leave a Reply

