Halibut & Quinoa: Pre-Race Meal Practice

We decided to build this meal after finding a beautiful piece of farm fresh Halibut at Costco (high quality and economical).  Halibut is a cold-water fish rich in omega-3’s with a very mild taste. We had mangos and quinoa but every other ingredient is from the farmer’s market or my own garden.  The quinoa was inspired from EmmyCooks because of her recipe that mentioned quinoa with radishes that sounded fantastic to me– as do so many of her recipes.

I made 2 cups of the wonderful and naturally gluten-free quinoa so I’d have leftovers for lunch.  Then I chopped a bunch of fresh radishes and 3 multicolored carrots and added 2 tablespoons of hemp seeds, 1/2 cup of chopped dried cherries, a few sprigs of both cilantro and parsley from the garden, 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil to moisten, about 1/2-1 tablespoon of very rich (almost syrupy) aged balsamic and of course salt and pepper to taste. I decorated with lovely peppery tasting nasturtium flowers and served it on a bok choy leaf, both from my garden.

The salsa was created from 1-2 diced mangos (depending on size), 1/2 diced farmer’s market cucumber, 2-3 fresh squeezed limes whisked with a squeeze of honey to mellow the acid, a handful of fresh mint and oregano from the garden and salt and pepper to taste.

The resulting dish, which took less than 30 minutes to fully prepare, is a great option for a pre-race meal.  The fish itself was plain grilled for about 6 minutes total time or 3 minutes each side so you get nice grill marks. It’s a nice balance of protein, grain along with the fruit and vegetables. The meal also had a lot of texture as well as a balance of savory and sweet which we enjoyed and hope you do too!

17 thoughts on “Halibut & Quinoa: Pre-Race Meal Practice

    1. Nope–only 1 triathlete in the family. My husband says a race would ruin his enjoyment (and the swim isn’t something he’d like) but I like the goals and competition. We both like to cook and did this together so I couldn’t take full credit!

  1. Oh I love nasturtiums – the first time I had them was on Long Island in fact. Thanks for sharing the quinoa goodness and the link to EmmyCooks – I’ve been experimenting a lot more with alternative grains now that DH has gone gluten free (so we are GF at home – him out of the house too, I still have the occassional daliance).

    1. You’re welcome Donna! And that’s why I plant nasturtiums—so pretty and so tasty in salads. Quinoa is one of my favorites–it’s just so tasty and the texture is great. Like you, I’m default GF as well. I hope DH is feeling better with his new diet. It’s nice now that so many restaurants are accomodating. Did you know Spain is a great place for GF—my celiac cousins who visit there can’t stop talking about it.

      1. That’s a bummer when you can’t find healthy things you are craving but at least it makes you very creative. 🙂 I’m lucky to have a wonderful farmers market here from April to November. I used to have to get a box of organic veggies shipped to me by truck which is not very envir-friendly.

      2. You can find healthy food. But you’re pretty much stuck with your bog standard Asian stuff (so cabbage and beans) and European cabbage and beans (so we’re pretty stocked up on the cabbage and bean family) and root vegetables. Herbs… not so much. Anything beyond a tomato and a sweet pepper… nope. I still find enough vegetables. It’s just not very fancy.

    1. Thank you! I always think that food needs to be a total sensory experience, even when eating at home. 🙂 I have the gorgeous Montauk Lighthouse sprint coming up in a few weeks. And then I’m trying to figure out if I do a 70.3 at the end of the season–miss my long distance training. What about you? Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

