Fresh Summer Salad

Summertime is always busy with work, training and visiting with friends. I find that although I go to the farmer’s market every week, I end up cooking a bit less due to either time or the fact that I just don’t want anything hot. This is a simple salad of all the delicious ingredients I had in my fridge: cucumber, cherry tomato, avocado, tat soi and the first fresh picked corn of the season. You’ll note that there is a variety of texture and the avocado gave me the fat to make it more of a meal.

The dressing was simple: lavender olive oil I bought in Paris, a rich balsamic and a generous pinch of Herbs de Provence, salt and pepper.  Yes, Paris was on my mind.  The olive oil is extremely aromatic and with a high quality balsamic vinegar I only needed to add a nice drizzle for flavor. It’s worth investing in a more expensive and richer balsamic—you don’t need as much and the flavor is often smoother and less acidic. (Trader Joe’s is a great place to find some high quality and well priced fancy balsamic.)

It’s important to note that I would eat a salad like this the night before a race because it’s light, healthful and not a lot of greens so easy on my system.  Adding some beans, tofu or shrimp would go nicely and make it a little more substantial. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

