Post-Long Run Coffee Protein Smoothie

I can’t help it.   I love a smoothie and I’m obsessed with making new and innovative ones. I ran long again and really wanted a protein pick-me-up and I wanted coffee —so why not do a combo. I really enjoy good coffee but I’m a pleasure coffee drinker not a regular one. I do use caffeine in races in gel form, although I’m not one to have a cup of Joe right before race time for fear it will cause me some digestive distress. I do however, often make myself a cappuccino Ultragen drink as a liquid calorie breakfast before a race. With 2 scoops, I can get 300 calories and its extremely gentle and palatable on my system.

For this smoothie, I was going for full caffeine effective and though the Starbucks Via would be a good measurement.
1 scoop Ultragen (150 calories)

1 Via packet (although 1 tablespoon of coffee would probably be fine too)

1 frozen banana

1/2 cup yogurt

1 cup rice milk

1 tablespoon Chia seeds

I have to tell you that the whole mixture ended up tasting like a delicious coffee milkshake.  My grandma loved coffee ice cream and so tasting it really brought back some wonderful memories.   My husband is not so keen on the goat yogurt because it’s a bit sour, although I enjoy that flavor. I think a plain or vanilla yogurt might go very nicely instead. Needless to say, with a monster run, a coffee smoothie and a little swim, I started the day off fantastically.  I hope you enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Post-Long Run Coffee Protein Smoothie

  1. I’ve been thinking of how to add protein to my diet and this is perfect. I drink a coffee smoothie almost every day already so it would be an easy addition.

    1. If you don’t want to do the Utragen, you can get Vega Natural protein powder that doesn’t have flavor or I’d reccommend pure Hemp powder too. I don’t know about you, but I have to have a little protein or I’m constantly hungry so the powders really help. Elizabeth

  2. I make a very similar ultragen smoothie post long workouts – I got the idea from an Amanda Lovato post ages ago. I used Ultragen, a shot of espresso, a banana, and then as I think the whey is enough milk based protein for me, I use a handful of macadamia nuts (blender blitzed they make great “nut milk”) a teaspoon of flax seeds – and if I am feeling crazy a handful of frozen berries and a teaspoon of dutch cocoa. For my liquid base I tend to use about half a cup of water.

    1. Yum! That sounds delicious Donna! I often forget to use nuts like that but with the Vita-mix I really should. I started using EFS products after reading Amanda’s blog too. 🙂 I’m going to try your recipe–thanks!

  3. A coffee smoothie is a great idea. I’ll have to try it soon. I also like the idea of adding chia seeds. I’ve been wondering how to incorporate them in my diet. Is there any reason you use Ultragen over other powders?

    1. Hi! Ultragen isn’t chalky and agrees with my stomach especially in long distance events. It dissolves so quickly I can drink it with plain water and get in calories easily. I also like Vega. Both are gluten free which I like even though I’m not intolerant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

