Date & Oat Smoothie

I am still concocting new smoothies–I can’t help it!  I love them and am always looking for ways to make them substantial since I don’t like to be hungry too soon after I drink them. Adding a 1/2 cup of rolled oats is a wonderful way to make them more substantial. You’d think it would make them chunky, but when you blast away your blender or Vita-mix it just blends right in.

For this smoothie I added 2 new things – 4 dates for a little sweetness and also a tablespoon of Cacao Powder. I’m always of the mindset that a little chocolate is good for your health (antioxidents) and even if it wasn’t, I’d still probably ration it to myself– but of course good high quality dark chocolate.  The resulting smoothie was a very mild chocolate flavor, along with being substantial enough to wait for lunch.

1/2 cup yogurt

1/2 cup rice milk

1 tablespoon Vega protein

1 tablespoon Cacao

3-4 dates

9 thoughts on “Date & Oat Smoothie

    1. It definately makes it more substantial which I really like especially when I’m hungry. I know Vega is great–I love how you can just put it in water and drink after working out—-it disolves so nicely and isn’t chalky. I also love plain Hemp powder too but I ran out.

Leave a Reply

