New Drink – No Plan

drinks

I try to mix things up in the off-season: spin classes, yoga, weight training, and basically having fun staying fit. Not that I don’t do that when I’m training for an event, but now is the time to spend more time with your family, enjoy yourself and stay fit for the sake of just staying fit. I do have to gear up for the Eagleman 70.3 on June 9th, but I have time before I have to start doing big volume. I have a 12 week Endurance Nation 70.3 plan so I still have a little more time to play around. Mostly, an early season 70.3 is about easing into the volume so you don’t hurt yourself. I’ll add speed work when the weather gets nice in May.

In the meantime, I’ve been loving my spin class. My instructor is also a triathlon coach so she really mixes things up for both endurance, strength training and speed. I’m also on my home trainer and doing Spinervals but I like mixing it up. And, I have a new drink I’ve been using recommended by my accupunturist for cold season as an immune booster, but I think it just tastes great and is a nice change from my regular mix. I also figure that this time of year I can do with less sweetness and calories, although you can fiddle with this drink and add honey if you want. (Think honeystingers!)

Take a water bottle with filtered water (or warm it up if you’re drinking at home) and add:

1 tablespoon Goji berriesDried_wolfberry_closeup
1/8 teaspoon ginger powder or chop an inch of fresh ginger root
1-2 slices of lemon (squeeze and drop rind and all into bottle)
1 dash cayenne
Optional: cinnamon (added today), honey, agave.

Enjoy the indoor training if you are in North America or Europe and those down under enjoy summertime!

6 thoughts on “New Drink – No Plan

  1. Ohhh I had a very similar drink at Caravan of Dreams in NYC – only they served it as hot tea in a little teapot. It tasted incredible and I felt amazing afterwards! Thanks for the reminder – I need to get onto it! 🙂

    1. You’re exactly right–it was given as me as a tea, and then to drink throughout the day. I enjoyed it so much I started bringing it to my early morning workout. Haven’t been to Caravan of Dreams (when I go to NYC I’m so partial to Candle Cafe) so thanks for the tip!

  2. The Cayenne makes it sound pretty awesome. Ill have to try it. It sounds really great. I switch it up in the offseason too. I do CrossFit 6 times a week. It is always different. My last post is all about CrossFit for the triathlete. Well for this Triathlete. 🙂

  3. I’d probably add on top of that mix a pinch of turmeric – you really can’t beat turmeric and its anti-inflammatory properties, and curcurmin (active compound of turmeric) is also being actively researched for neuropathic pain relief!

Leave a Reply

