Healthy and Decadent Chocolate Pie

pie

I’ve got to thank Uncle Howard and Gluten Free Gus for the most amazing Valentine’s Day (or any special occasion) chocolate mousse pie. It’s gluten-free, vegan, low sugar, healthy, raw and downright decadent. Oh, and it’s pretty darn easy to make too. I absolutely love a recipe like this. I did improvise with 1 square block of tofu however because one of my avocados had gone bad and this was a good substitution that I think I’ll do again. The avocados add a richness, but I think going with 2 small avocados and a block of tofu gives a lovely texture. Instead of grinding the nuts, I also used 1 cup (8 oz) of almond flour. And I didn’t realize I’d run out of dates so I substituted some melted vegan butter (about 1/3 cup) to make the crust stick together and this worked well. I also used honey instead of agave—raw sugar would not work here so don’t substitute that. In regular baking it’s dangerous to improvise, but in this case I didn’t have to cook it so the recipe wasn’t harmed at all.

My husband bought the raspberries to decorate the top and that added a nice touch. We brought it to our friend’s house the next night to share because it was extremely tempting to have around even though it really doesn’t make you feel t00 guilty with avocados and 1/2 cup of sweetner. I promise you won’t regret making this. Hit the link below for all the details and enjoy!

Uncle Howard's
Chocolate Ganache Tart: The Best Vegan (and healthiest) Dessert You Will
Ever Eat
.

12 thoughts on “Healthy and Decadent Chocolate Pie

Leave a Reply

