Winter Salads

20130223-163850.jpg

A lot of our quickie dinners are veggie burgers and salad. I thought these two salads were especially cheerful for these dreary winter days here in the Northeast. And, they incorporated leftovers, making them extra tasty.

The first one used my Tuscan kale salad as a base which, if you haven’t tried, is one of my favorites and a staple in our house. I cooked the veggie burger and heated some leftover healthy fries to put on top along with some crumbled feta. We had some beautiful mango I chopped, which satisfied the need for dessert.

Then for lunch today I was in the mood for salad again. This time, I cooked veggie sausage and added it to a baby arugula salad with a carrot based dressing from a local shop. I was pretty hungry from my workout this morning, so topped it off with some warmed French lentils. Lentils are one of those wonderful proteins that you can keep in a container in the fridge and add to dishes. I gave it a little dash of feta along with some salt and pepper. We had some beautiful raspberries and blueberries—-they tasted like summertime. Delicious!

Play with fruit in salad not only because it tastes good but because it reminds you that spring will be here soon!

20130223-165010.jpg

6 thoughts on “Winter Salads

  1. I love lentils… salad, soup, burgers, or just with butter. Lentils are awesome! I also add fruits in my salad (but I don’t particularly like “fruity salad dressings”). Is that weird? Haha.
    -JulieC

    1. Nope! I completely agree with you about fruity dressings. The sweetness is often fakey or weird even when it’s a natural brand. I’d say I might make one but I’d rather just have the fruit texture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

