Healthy Dessert Options

20130505-092731.jpg

Remember that amazing chocolate pie I made from Gluten Free Gus back in February? Well, when I find something great like that I make it again and again. That darn dessert is impressive to bring to guests, have at your own dinner party and is just so gosh darn easy to make. But if you know me by now, you know I’m a improvisational cook. I work with the ingredients I have on hand and tweak things to my liking. This time I had guests over and one of my guests has a nut allergy. I was not in the mood to make a pie crust so I decided that a pudding or chocolate moose type dessert would be perfect. Here’s the adaptations:

1-1/2 ripe avocados
1 block tofu
1 tbsp vanilla
3 tbsp coconut oil
1 cup of filtered water
1/2 cup sweetener (I used a 50/50 combo of honey and maple syrup)
1-1/2 cups of unsweetened cocoa powder

Add the cocoa powder and the water last. Blend everything together into a smooth guacamole looking mixture. Add the cocoa powder and mix it with a spatula before blending. I’ve found to get the right consistency, you need just shy of one cup of water, which you add in gradually as you are blending. This takes all of 10 minutes total then put it in the refrigerator until you are ready. If you’re lucky, you’ll have a lovely partner who wants to help and makes a little raspberry and blueberry compote to drizzle on top. It’s not a very sweet dessert, which is nice, but the berries add a lovely contrast. Enjoy!

20130505-092742.jpg

6 thoughts on “Healthy Dessert Options

Leave a Reply

