Embrace Change

20130519-154755.jpg

Today I was able to do my first 5k in 4 weeks! I’m finally recovered from my peroneal tendon strain. But alas, I have new kicks —the Saucony Kinvara which are very lightweight and so far very comfortable. (And yes pretty!). I admit it—I don’t like changing my sneakers, however if there’s a design change and I get a blister or a tweak then I’m out. (Someone is going to have a very nice 3x worn pair of K-ona’s!) I’ve gone from beloved Asics (blister) to Misuno (blister) to K-Swiss (tendon strain) to Saucony over the past 15 years. I’m not one to stockpile as I like my shoes to be fresh (if that’s possible) and wonder if I just happened to get an accidental older pair of K-ona’s, thus making them not as soft and pliable? In any case, I can’t wear them again and am forced to move on.

It’s hard to change —it’s the fear of the unknown in anything that we change and sneakers are definitely a simple thing. Unfortunately a injury or blister is a blip that’s not necessarily pleasant, but the experience is always a lesson in patience. A few weeks of no running was very minor when you put it in perspective and left me with plenty of other things to do. My podiatrist thinks that I’ll be able to do the Eagleman without a planned DNF so long as I listen to my body. (She knows me and understands I’ll want to do the whole thing even though I can be good.)

Like any curve balls in a race, how do you deal with a blip when you think you’ve got it all dialed in?

16 thoughts on “Embrace Change

  1. Change is often hard, so thanks for making me think about it!! At my 70.3 race last summer, they ran out of water on the bike and it was 92 degrees Fahrenheit with full sun and little wind. I went into problem solving mode and immediately started to pick up half full water bottles that athletes in front of me had taken a few sips from and then thrown on the ground. I used these half full water bottles to refill my water bottle with. I knew I couldn’t go another 2 hours (at least) without water, so I did what needed to be done to make sure I didn’t get dehydrated. Despite the glitch in my race plan, I did PR the event and was very happy with how mentally focused and determined I stayed throughout the day.

    1. Wow! That is an awesome (albeit–crazy triathlete) story! You can always look back on that day and not only marvel at your gumption but know that you can survive just about anything. I love it! Where was the race? 🙂

  2. Good going! Those are powerful colors, and here’s hoping the shoes are too.

    I like your word for an injury: a blip. Great attitude.

    Went from Nike to Merrell to Altra; Am very pleased with Altra Instincts, and more importantly my feet are happy.

    1. Happy feet are key! Sounds like you’ve been through the sneaker circus as well.

      You know, I’m always so inspired by athletes who have a permanent challenge and I really try to remember that when I feel bad when I’m sidelined–which is truly a blip. 🙂

    1. These are very light and you should definitely try them. I love the pink laces too–but I use Yankz reflective and they only come in white and black so I’ll be changing the look shortly. I use reflective because I find they stay in place better than the regular ones, although I did check for pink regular but they were sold out!

  3. I started in Brooks 10 years ago…tried Asics; made my knees hurt, back to Brooks, then after reading Natural Running, I went “minimal” The Kinvara 2 is still my favorite! I have the Kinvara 3’s for shorter distances and the Mirage for longer distances. The Mirage is still 4mm drop but more cushion. I have to say that switching to Saucony, I have had no trouble with knees, no blisters.

    1. That’s really good to hear. I do like the way they feel minimalist while still supportive. I’m very optimistic that I’ll be wearing these for a while. I have the 3s and just saw they came out with the 4s (with cool colors!)

  4. Yay for the 5k and news about Eagleman!
    Ugh- I’ve been trying out new shoes for the past nine months. I don’t think I’ve found my new shoe yet, but I’m hopeful I’m almost there!

    1. Thank you! It feels so good to be up and running again–I was able to do 8.5mi. This morning. I have the Eagleman 70.3 next week so I’m just going to have fun and see how it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

