Victory is Doing Your Best

It seems apropos that today I’m doing the Eagleman and it is also the 14th anniversary of my dad’s death. He was an amazing and inspiring coach and this quote I found could have just as well come from him. And my goodness, he would have LOVED to cheer me on in my triathlons! (And coming to Maryland and visiting our cousins would have been an easy sell!)

I honestly do always feel him right on my shoulder particularly in a 70.3— where the intensity of the distance makes me so grateful that my body is able to do this. Dad – this race is for you!

Victory is in having done your best. If you’ve done your best, you’ve won. Bill Bowerman

20130608-171654.jpg

23 thoughts on “Victory is Doing Your Best

  1. Best wishes on your dedicated event. Understand so well what you are saying about your Dad. Mine has been gone many years and I still miss him and on reflex sometimes think I will show this or that too him or tell him something.

    1. It’s funny isn’t it? I just assume they are listening and talk to them anyhow! The missing part never goes away as you know but certainly the sadness does as I hope it has for you. πŸ™‚

  2. I averaged 18.3 when my usual average is 16-17. It’s a flat course so you have to constantly pedal without rest so this worked well for me. My friend gave me some aero tires so I’m sure that helped too. Super fun!

  3. As a Dad with a daughter, I can believe your Dad is crossing dimensions on your behalf, joying in your joy. There is so much beyond our senses. Your effort in this race: a boon to others. I’ll reblog this over at M7Adapt — honors to you and your Dad and those you hold near and dear.

  4. My Michael and I will be doing a tri in August. This will be the 3rd time doing this one. Three of my sisters will also do it. I am not a swimmer but enjoy the challenge and competition. Great stuff regarding your Dad. Lost my Mom a few years ago and really miss her.

    1. How excellent that you are making it a family affair–that makes it really special! It’s hard to lose your parents, but I do believe what MikeW said, they are always with you in spirit! πŸ™‚ Best wishes on your race! Elizabeth

  5. It is a great saying. I try to get others to join in races. I tell them you don’t have to be the winner, just have fun and maybe try to race yourself on the next race. Here’s to you and your Dad on this Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

