Playing with Teff: the Peanut Butter Chip Teff Cookie

20130601-195202.jpg

I still had some teff left from my teff bread baking and wanted to see if I cook make it sing cookie-style. This was a darn easy recipe I poached off the back of Bob’s Red Mill teff but adapted to my whimsy. I’m still going to play with the recipe but am off to a very tasty start.

Pre-heat oven to 350. You don’t have to grease the cookie sheet but I used parchment paper for ease of clean-up just in case. (They did really slide off nicely!)

1-1/2 cups teff
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup maple syrup or honey (I used honey)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup peanut butter
1 tsp cinnamon

Combine wet ingredients in your food processor, then mix them into the dry. Place on a cookie sheet in balls and then go traditional and mark them with a fork! Bake for 13-15 minutes. Let them cool a bit before moving them to the rack because they crumble a bit when warm. They actually work better when you’ve given them time to set. I did add chia seeds to this batch to balance the texture which I wouldn’t recommend — the chia just got stuck in our teeth and didn’t work. I’m going to try some crushed nuts next time. Yes–they were that good and easy! (Yes, I was already baking muffins so great to get a 2 for 1 for my oven time!)

20130601-200213.jpg

5 thoughts on “Playing with Teff: the Peanut Butter Chip Teff Cookie

    1. I am a huge fan of chia for hydration. They hold the liquid and slowly release it. Did you read the book On Running about the Mexican ultra-marathoners who use chia? I also eat my chia pudding before a have a long day on a business trip–helps me stay hydrated. Same thing for long hot run! 🙂 I thought for baking that it would “hold” the teff together due to its tapioca-like texture–but in this case I was wrong and it didn’t work as I’d intended.

  1. Too bad the chia seeds didn’t work! I usually add them to yogurt but I’ve been looking for other foods to throw them in.

Leave a Reply

