Summertime Cookin’

20130629-183557.jpg

Although today was a bit hot, I needed (yes….I needed) to make my weekly batch of gluten free muffins (note I’ve tweaked this recipe to 50/50 almond flour and GF blend). And as long as I was turning on the oven, I could make the GF Peanut Butter Teff cookies and bring some to my accupunturist’s open house as a gift.

20130629-183610.jpg

Then I got crazy. I made some raw GF Coconut Honey Date balls (old recipe and below is today’s adapted version) and if that wasn’t enough, I had a ton of basil so I made a simple pesto and was able to freeze a portion. I also had beautiful 20130629-183628.jpgbeets. I love to just steam them so I can keep them in the fridge to add to salads or even smoothies. To top it off, I threw together some guacamole since some friends were coming over for a fish grill with salad. And yes, I started off this cooking extravaganza with a berry smoothie with chia so that I’d be hydrated after my tempo run! What an awesome day!

What are your summertime favorite recipes or do you shut down the kitchen when it’s warm? Maybe some of my blogger friends down under who are in winter can inspire us!

20130629-183620.jpg

GF Honey Date Balls

Pulse together until well combined:
1 cup chopped dates
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup coconut
2 TBSP chia
dash cinnamon
dash vanilla
Roll in coconut and put in refrigerator

Basil Pesto

Pulse together until well combined–taste to add more salt or citrus.

Bunch of Basil
3-4 garlic cloves
1/3 cup olive oil
1/2 cup pignoli nuts
1/4 parmesan cheese (optional)
1 fresh squeezed lime
1 tsp salt

Note–I always make a ton more than 1 bunch so I can freeze it so this is recommended measures, you can certainly tweak it to your liking–it’s nearly impossible to mess it up. Also try this with arugula or parsley!

6 thoughts on “Summertime Cookin’

    1. Thanks! I’m a huge fan of the ‘quick & easy’ recipe because I’m usually hungry right now so most of the stuff I make takes about 30 minutes or less. But definitely harder to find the time in the summer! 🙂

    1. Thanks! I’ve been making batches of quinoa as well and doing some of the same. It’s so easy and keeps so well you can switch it up for a few meals. Lemony dressing sounds perfect— do tell!

Leave a Reply

