Cycling stars Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish back tragic helmet campaign

bikehelmet

Long ago, I used to think people looked dorky wearing helmets (long meaning like 20 years ago) and when I rode my bike all over the University campus I never wore a helmet. Now, I think people are crazy NOT wearing a helmet. I’m sure you’ve seen the family riding with all the kids wearing a helmet but the parents without. What if something happens to the parent? Looks like we’ve still got to spread the word on helmets. You’re crazy if you don’t wear one and now they can be cool!

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Mark Smith believes a helmet would have helped protect his son and has set out to tell his story to make sure no other parents have to share his heartache.

BY RYAN'S SIDE:  Mark Smith is calling for everyone to support the compulsory wearing of helmets for cyclists after his son Ryan was injured in an accident.

BY RYAN’S SIDE: Mark Smith is calling for everyone to support the compulsory wearing of helmets for cyclists after his son Ryan was injured in an accident.

View original post 452 more words

5 thoughts on “Cycling stars Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish back tragic helmet campaign

    1. It’s sort of crazy because of all the cars, cabs and pedestrians to navigate in the city. I thought about using a Citibike in Paris but I didn’t bring my helmet so I thought better of it. Doesn’t take much to fall and hit your head. Unfortunately I’ve done it –but with a helmet. Be well Rose! 🙂

  1. I TOTALLY TOTALLY agree with this -whilst at uni I researched it and sadly the british doctors institute don’t agree with compulsory helmet wearing ( therefore the government wont make it law) as it will they say diminish the health effects of cycling : ie less people will cycle … totally rubbish !!

    1. That’s crazy! My very good friend bikes to work in London and has been hit, tripped by a kid throwing a ball at his wheel and other hazards—without a helmet he would have been doomed. It’s aggressive cars/people that force less cycling! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      1. no prob – I have only just started riding a bike to work (yesterday) and its scary out there – I will try although its not legal to use paths when the traffic is bad – there is one road that has a cycle lane painted on but the amount of cars that are parked over it are incredible … happi cycling tho ;o)

Leave a Reply

