Pumpkin Smoothie Time!

20131005-110148.jpg

Inspired by the pumpkins on my front porch along with a pumpkin smoothie suggestion from the Vega newsletter, I thought my post run smoothie could use a change. I will chop and roast my own pumpkins after Halloween, so for now I used organize canned pumpkin. Pumpkin is a good source of fiber and vitamin A but mostly it has wonderful immune boosting properties, not to mention it’s unique and wonderful taste. Here’ what I threw into the Vita-mix:

1 frozen banana
2 heaping kitchen tablespoons of pumpkin (about 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
1 cup almond coconut milk (absolutely amazing taste and texture if you can find it)
Spice to your liking: cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg, allspice and a dash of cayenne
1 tablespoon of raw cacao powder

I decided not to use protein powder since I was going to have lunch but you could certainly add it. It really tasted spicy and sweet and was a nice change. Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Smoothie Time!

Leave a Reply

