Easy Healthy Breakfast: Muesli

20131105-071727.jpg

I first tried muesli when I lived in Germany during college and it’s something I’ve enjoyed ever since. One of the most amazing benefits of eating insoluble fiber such as oats is that if someone you know tends toward high cholesterol, it is one of the few things that can reduce it naturally in addition to having many other health benefits.

The other day my husband asked me to buy the GF muesli that I bought before, but I couldn’t remember where I’d bought it or even what the package looked like. (I’m in charge of buying good healthy GF things!) I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of making it myself and storing it. I kind of thought that, like granola, you had to mix and bake it. You don’t. I looked up a recipe and laughed at myself and then sought out things in my cabinet realizing that I make it all the time fresh so why not have a bunch of it for ease. There is no real recipe to this— only that it tastes good to you. Start with 2 cups of oats and then add what you have. This is what I did:

2 cups rolled oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats)
1 cup chopped and toasted walnuts
3/4 to 1 cup chopped dried cherries (or raisins or other dried fruit you enjoy)
1/4 cup salted pepitas (I had some left over and thought the salt would be nice)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 tablespoon chia
2 tablespoons hemp seeds
1 tablespoon brown sugar (optional because my husband likes things sweet)

You can have this straight with milk, make it a hot cereal, add it to cold cereal, put it on yogurt, add it to a smoothie, or anything else you can think of. And of course you can add additional things to change it up–that’s why I think starting with only 2 cups of oats is optimum.

Are you a breakfast eater? What’s your go-to healthy easy breakfast?

11 thoughts on “Easy Healthy Breakfast: Muesli

  1. I’ve just introduced the green smoothie as my breakfast as the oats and the sweetness of the fruit no longer agreed with me (even in liquid form). Not sure how long I’ll stick with it. I’ll try as long as I can because I need my breakfast. I love muesli but somehow, my stomach really doesn’t. I end up feeling like I have just swallowed a rock. 😦

    1. That’s too bad about the oats, because usually it has the opposite effect. Do other grains effect you? Have you thought about trying Gluten-free? I do love a green smoothie. (I’m still addicted to Kale!) 🙂

      1. Oh, I think the oats are the least of my problems. Plus, I don’t believe in the gluten is bad for you hype. I just have a temperamental stomach. What works fine one day, won’t work the next. It may well be that my body was telling me to stop overloading on the carbs being the horrible carb junkie that I am. I’m just trying to get some balance in my food.

      2. Makes sense. The rock gut stomach sounded like a celiac/gluten problem. I’m an everything in moderation gal myself. My husband is a celiac so therefore I don’t eat much gluten as a result but it’s not like I completely avoid it. I think it’s all about balance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

