Running in NYC

Running around the reservoir in Central Park is one of my favorite things to do when I visit NYC. Since January I’ve been coming in for intensive coach training with CTI, this was the first time the weather cooperated for some pre-workshop outdoor fun.

20140605-184403-67443343.jpg

I wanted to keep moving since I’m tapering for Eagleman 70.3 this weekend, but I also love to experience the everyday energy. I could not believe how many people were running, biking and walking at 6:30am!

20140605-184630-67590237.jpg

I do try a morning run in every city I visit because it’s an energy that’s unique and oftentimes special. A favorite was an early morning run around Notre Dame in Paris. NYC makes me feel a part of the city.

What’s your favorite away from home run?

20140605-184958-67798019.jpg

14 thoughts on “Running in NYC

  1. I love working out in new places!! I think my favorite place so far has been Bozeman, Montana. I loved our short, overnight stay with a leisure bike ride when we arrived into town and a nice 14 mile run in the morning before we hit the road again. It is so fun to explore new places πŸ˜‰

  2. Enjoy Eagleman! In NYC, I love running down the path along West Street and across the Brooklyn Bridge. My favorite away run is along the boardwalk in South Beach, Miami sunshine πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks rose! Across the B’lyn Bridge sounds very cool too especially if you caught a morning with few people. My grandfather had a ticket to the opening of that bridge that I still have. My roots are in Brooklyn! πŸ™‚

  3. Love your NYC photos! Lately I have been running along New Jersey roadsβ€”it’s like a home away from home, but my favorite place to run is Kissena Park in Flushing, Queens!

  4. I would love to run around Central Park one day. I think the people watching while running would be fabulous. I don’t travel too much, so I don’t get to do away from home runs very much. I did go up to Walla Walla, Washington for a race 2 yrs ago & I had to do a 20 min run during taper while I was up there and it was fun to run around the city I’d never been in. I think it’s a great way to explore a new city. I’m heading to San Diego later this year and I can’t wait to run there. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

