Top 10 Books inspired by Resilence

This is a list I continually tweak based on what I’m reading. At the conference I spoke at recently, I wanted to make sure I had a handout that might be useful to people. Some on my list have remained the same and then there are a few others that have made it to the list, as my research in resilence is inspiring me.  If you have any recommendations please let me know!

alisonlevine.png
Author & Speaker Alison Levine

 

 

  1. On the Edge by Alison Levine – not only the best book on Everest I’ve read in a long time, but an amazing book about leadership, determination and the verve to never give up.
  2. Elite Minds by Dr. Stan Beecham – a fantastic book on how athletes train their minds for competitive advantage and how this can be applied to business.
  3. Presence by Amy Cuddy – if you liked her TED talk, this book is more of the same but still valuable.
  4. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert – creative living beyond fear is the theme and especially poignant when trying to unleash creativity.
  5. Stand Out by Dorie Clarke – a useful book about how to stand out and brand yourself. Very readable with easy tips to execute.

6-7. The Gifts of Imperfection & Daring Greatly by Brene Brown – easy to read and very powerful. She makes her academic research about shame accessible and inspirational. Resilience is very much a part of her work.

  1. Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World by Adam Grant – a compelling thought leader and writer.  This is about rejecting conformity in order to achieve great things.
  2. What Got You Here Won’t Get You There by Marshall Goldsmith – this is a very readable book on coaching yourself to success.  The tagline is “How Successful People Become Even More Successful.”
  3. Grit to Great: How Perseverance, Passion, and Pluck Take You from Ordinary to Extraordinary by Linda Thaler and Robin Koval – this is a quick read with lots of little personal stories of gritty people. I was inspired to work on my own “rejection proof” project, which for me, makes the whole book worthwhile.
Leave a Reply

