Celebrate What Went Right in 2016

milesdavis

Before we head over the line to 2017, stop for a second. Take a moment to celebrate what you’ve accomplished over the past year. There could be very small things and big things too. Here are a few things that I feel good about and I hope you’ll share some of yours.

I tried to meditate this year and although I’ve still got a long way to go, I’m able to quiet my mind for a few minutes without going bonkers. I feel good about this small milestone. Then I look at my bigger accomplishments too. I started a new business this year, McCourt Leadership Group, which made my training schedule take a backseat. Still, I worked out but without the hardcore schedule I usually employ –I didn’t have the capacity to focus on both. I did have fun in my local races, and without expectation, I fared pretty well. The most exciting was in the last sprint of the season I got 2nd in my age group, missing 1st by less than a minute. This was a particular thrill, both because I hadn’t lost my mojo and secondly because I still felt that competitive edge.

I also brought yoga back into my life on a regular basis. I’ve been practicing for nearly 20 years but making it to a regular class always seemed elusive due to my schedule. This year I was able to make time for yoga and both my body and my mind are better for it. Part of my #100daysofresilience project was about doing the yoga hand stand and for 200 days I rarely missed a day. December my travel schedule got in the way (a good thing) but I plan to get back on this quest and add backbends. I’d like to be able to go from a standing position to a backbend, which I’ve never really been able to do well, even in gymnastics in high school.  

Although I’ve been writing less on this blog, I’ve been publishing more and am happy to be able to call myself a writer. I’ve written regularly for my industry magazine On Wall Street and becoming a contributing writer on Huffington Post felt really great.  Next year I hope my books that I’ve been working on will be finished and on their way out into the world. My thriller was in editing much of this year and I’ve been writing like mad on a non-fiction work that encompasses my passion for being resilient and showing people that if I can do it, then so can you. I can’t wait to be able to share more with you soon!

Before I start thinking about how I can improve upon this year, of course there’s always room for improvement and learning from my mistakes, this is just a bit of reflection on what went right and what I feel really good about.

Try doing this exercise of celebrating what went right. Before you start articulating goals and improvements for the new year, take a small moment to focus on any small thing that went well.   Maybe you at more kale or drank more water. Perhaps you added some walking to your lifestyle. You might have read a book that changed the way you think. Whatever it is, breathe it in and smile. You deserve it!

butterflyberlin

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

